The Board

Our Board leads our work and comprises our Members and sponsoring organisations and are responsible for our overall direction. We are led by our Board and they set our values, standards and aims. They oversee our objectives and delivery. The Board comprises the Chair Mark Hoban, Founding and Partner Members, and HM Treasury attend as an observer.

Mark Hoban

Chair, Financial Services Skills Commission

Mark is Chair of the Financial Services Skills Commission, following his role as Chair of the Financial Services Skills Taskforce.

He is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Flood Re, a post he has held since 2015. He provides strategic direction and ensures the delivery of strategic objectives and risk management. He also serves on the Board of the London Stock Exchange Plc and is senior advisor to Markit, a leading international financial information provider.

Mark was previously Member of Parliament for Fareham, first elected in 2001. During his time in Parliament he serves as Minister for Employment 2012-13 and as Financial Secretary to the Treasury, 2010-2012 where he was responsible for the coalition government’s financial services policy. Prior to his election, Mark worked for PwC and its predecessor firms between 1985-2001. He studied Economics at the London School of Economics and is a Chartered Accountant.

Claire Tunley

Chief Executive, Financial Services Skills Commission

Claire is the Chief Executive of the Financial Services Skills Commission and a member of the Board.

Miles Celic

Board Member

Miles Celic is Chief Executive Officer of TheCityUK and has held this position since September 2016. He is also a member of the Department for International Trade Advisory Groups on Financial Services and Professional Advisory Services, a board member of UK Finance and a board member of the Financial Services Skills Commission.

Miles began his career in broadcasting, making and presenting radio and television programmes for the BBC and others. He moved on to work in the UK Parliament, where he focused on foreign affairs and defence issues. Miles subsequently worked in a number of leading reputation management and public policy consultancies, including a period at an arm of Omnicom – one of the world’s largest communications agency groups – where he advised clients including the BBC, the International Committee of the Red Cross and a number of international financial firms.

In 2007, Miles joined HSBC’s policy function to lead political engagement. He was part of the team that led the bank’s response to the global banking crisis. Miles moved to Prudential in 2009 as Director of Group Public Affairs & Policy and became Director of Group Strategic Communications in 2013. He was a member of Prudential’s Group Leadership Team.

Catherine McGuinness

Board Member

Catherine McGuinness is Chair of the City of London Corporation’s Policy and Resources Committee.  She has been an elected Member since 1997 representing the ward of Castle Baynard, which takes in St Paul’s and Fleet Street. Catherine is also a member of the Community and Children’s Services Committee and the Finance Committee.

As Chair of the Policy Committee, Catherine is Deputy Chair of TheCityUK, the promotional body for the UK financial services industry, and the International Regulatory Strategy Group and also Chairs a number of Committee’s such as the Courts Sub Committee, the Culture Mile Working Party, the Resource Allocation Sub Committee and the Public Relations & Economic Development Committee

She was previously a commissioner on the IPPR Commission on Economic Justice and is now a commissioner on the IPPR Commission on Environmental Justice, and on the council of St Paul’s Cathedral.

A solicitor by training, Catherine practised in financial services law for several years, qualifying as a solicitor at Waterhouse & Co (now Fieldfisher), where she became a partner, and leading the London legal departments at Sanpaolo Bank and Banca Commerciale Italiana (now combined as Intesa Sanpaolo).  More recently she has worked as a consultant in the alternative investment management sector.

Chris Box

Board Member


Steve Collinson

Board Member


Helen Cook

Board Member


Simon Culhane

Board Member


Emma Hardaker-Jones

Board Member


John Johnston

Board Member


Tanuj Kapilashrami

Board Member


Esmond Kensington

Board Member


Jordan Mayo

Board Member


Irene McDemott-Brown

Board Member


Mark McLane

Board Member


Stephen Noakes

Board Member


David Storey

Board Member


Chris Turpin

Board Member


Hinna Akhtar

Board Member



Find out more

About Us

Find out more about what we do

Our members

Learn more about our members

Our Team

Find out more about our team